Wind of doctrine

We must no longer be children, tossed to and fro and blown about by every wind of doctrine, by people’s trickery, by their craftiness in deceitful scheming. Ephesians 4:14, NRSV

I’ve been accused of this very thing by a conservative friend, a self-confessed fundamentalist. Well, I’m certainly not static, as this blog demonstrates (just read my profile). I read my N.T. Wright post and now I’m thinking hmm…..favorite theologian? As I read The Last Word and The Word After That by Brian Mclaren, I’m thinking that I don’t really want to pick and choose favorites, for theologians across the spectrum are helpful, even when I don’t necessarily agree with their conclusions. Some make more sense at the time I read them than others. Yet I shouldn’t simply become a ‘fan’, for we are all full of shortcomings. Intense study does not make one an expert.

Leave a comment