My identity

I have always felt embarrassed to identify myself as a Christian. It is really the only area of identification that I have felt uneasy about. I can easily say that I am vegetarian, a computer geek, that I enjoy swing dancing, even sharing my political persuasion with ease. Yet when it has come down to talking about my past church life, and the beliefs associated with my faith, I have become uneasy and clammed up. Why would this be so?



I assume that it both marginalised me and put tremendous pressure on the need for evangelical outreach. Certainly, I have some significant emotional problems that I am currently working through. However, looking through our accounts of Christianity in world history, it appears that it is right and true to have an identity crisis. I guess it’s easy to simply overlook the crusades and witch hunts as human error, but the extent of injustice and human rights abuse goes even further.



I’ll be posting more from Bringing God Back to Earth, but in the meantime I’m not sure I want to call myself a Christian any longer. Follower of Christ, absolutely. Adherent of the Christian religion, I think I’m done.
3 responses to “My identity

  • Rob

    Yeah, well, you could form a club. I hear this a lot from people fed up with the ‘vegas lightshow’ version of Christianity that seems to have taken over. *shrug* Good luck.

  • Gary

    Hi rob, nice to see a random comment out of the blue. I guess I could call the club ‘Hellbound’, and promote it as the haven for ex-Christians, backsliders, and church rejects. We could all wallow in just how much we hate the church, sharing our sad, sad stories.

    Seriously, I’m keen to connect with others with similar experience. It is a difficult journey, particularly when you’ve believed a certain way for a long time.

  • Rob

    Well, I’m a long-time non-believer so I don’t qualify but perhaps an ad in the local church bulletin… well, on second thought… perhaps not.

    And as far as Hellbound goes… well, that all depends on your definition I guess. Some say we’re already in hell. But then those people are typically too depressing to hang out with.

Leave a Reply

