Good vs. Bad Faith

I have previously written about whether a reasonable faith exists, and have just started reading Finding Faith by Brian McLaren.  In Chapter 1, titled Does It Really Matter What I Believe, Brian distinguishes between good and bad faith.  What I found interesting is that his descriptors for bad faith perfectly label my experience of faith in the churches I’ve attended, while his descriptors for good faith are the things I’ve desired but rarely found.  The descriptors for bad faith are as follows:

  1. Bad faith is based solely on unquestioned authority.
    A rather wicked use of scripture for this assertion is “touch not God’s anointed”.
  2. Bad faith is based on pressure or coercion.
    If you’ve ever been to see the production of Heaven’s Gate Hell’s Flames, you’ll know about this one.  That is a terrible dramatic presentation utilizing fear and guilt to coerce people to believe.
  3. Bad faith is often the result of a psychological need for belonging.
    This is likely the primary reason why my family came to faith.  Churches can be a wonderful place of friendship and potential courtship for singles, particularly given the individualism of our time.
  4. Bad faith appeals to self-interest and base motives.
    The prosperity gospel and appeals to miracles demonstrate this perfectly.
  5. Bad faith is arrogant and unteachable.
    Try questioning most prominent evangelical preachers and this is what you will likely find.  ‘I am right because God says so.’  How pitifully ignorant.
  6. Bad faith is dishonest.
    I’ve mainly witnessed this with the many ways the character of God is justified in his many inhumane acts in the Bible, or in describing suffering.
  7. Bad faith is apathetic.
    This is probably my pet peeve.  Ever since my early days as a Christian, I wanted a relevant faith, one which inspires me to action.  Yet the church was nothing more than an activity of learning and focus on the afterlife.
  8. Bad faith is a step backward.
    It certainly was for me.  Rather than developing my character, I spent too many years in ignorance, fear, and guilt.  Instead of becoming a better person, I just found another channel to be selfish.

Naturally, good faith is the inverse of the above:

  1. Good faith is humble, teachable, and inquisitive.
  2. Good faith is grateful (or, worth celebrating).
  3. Good faith is honest.
  4. Good faith is communal.
  5. Good faith is active.
  6. Good faith is tough (able to cope with rigorous challenge).
  7. Good faith is relational (involves a human-divine relationship).

I have seen hints of the above, but nothing substantial, hence my lack of comments.  Given the fact that I don’t really have faith at present, I am not sure whether I can assert if good faith does exist.  I am open to it, which is the reason for reading this book.

2 responses to “Good vs. Bad Faith

  • Luke

    i totally agree with this accessment. it’s the best description of good faith and bad faith i’ve seen that i can agree with. if you can’t question, and use the brain God gave you, then you’re not using all your capacity to find and follow God. right?

    loved your post.

  • Gary

    Thanks Luke, questions are indeed the best answers.

Leave a Reply

