In Praise of Bullshit

Oh Truth, where for art thou Truth?
I have searched nigh and far for you without avail.
And so I have made a decree: You do not exist!
You are nothing but an illusion, an elaborate fantasy.
One has said, “Truth is here, come my way!”
While another exclaimed, “Do not believe that liar!”

I looked and listened; I searched and searched.
It was not for want of trying that I came to my conclusion.
A light came on one day when I encountered a very wise man,
Who said to me,
“Are you in search of wisdom?”
I answered,
“I have been seeking for wisdom all of my life.”
“Well,” he said, “you will never find it.”

“What?”, I exclaimed, “How can this be?”
“Words, concepts, ideas are meaningless.  The truth for one is fiction for another.”
“Surely,” I asked in dismay, “there is one all-pervasive Truth?”
“Bullshit!”

Reeling from such an answer, I was stunned.  The wise man smiled and said,
“Can the concepts in your mind be your guiding light?
Has anyone given you sufficient knowledge to be at peace and ease?
All knowledge is bullshit.  We speak bullshit.  Every single word.
Do you want to know the road to wisdom?”

Eagerly, I answered, “Yes, I do!”

“Embrace the bullshit.  Know that what one says is meaningless.  Take not one seriously.
Enjoy your life, knowing that everything you learn is bullshit.
What is real is already real to you, and will increasingly become more real.
Stay true to the unfolding of each moment,
and relish the bullshit.
There is wisdom found.”

2 responses to “In Praise of Bullshit

  • C Woods

    This is wonderful.

    It sort of explains everything from religion to politics, how two people can see exact opposites as being true. The truth is, that we don’t believe what we see, we see what we believe, or perhaps what we want to believe,

  • Gary

    When I read it now I wonder whether I was influenced by Osho, he’s a quirky mystical guy (or was, since he’s been dead since the 90’s) who shares similar sentiments.

Leave a Reply

