Musings from a Fool

I need to make a confession.

I am a fool.

I have used this blog as a platform to speak of things that I could not understand, things that I could never understand.

If you have read any articles here prior to just recently, you’ll see what I mean.

Treat this as an autobiographical journey, and you will either love or loathe it.

For my atheist friends, you will deride the fact that I have again embraced faith in God as demonstrated in the way of Jesus;

My Christian friends may be shocked by some of what I have written before.

I will not attempt to erase what was done, as it serves a valuable purpose in revealing a mind void of meaning, a restless soul wandering in total darkness.

Neither will I now attempt to say that I have arrived in the light, being saved and filled with purpose and meaning.

Rather, I’m just a little bit closer to the light. It’s not so dark any more, I’ve got a tiny glimpse of some light ahead.

That light is what many now consider to be pure fiction; I now consider this faith journey towards Christ to be the most wonderful thing imaginable.

So I will happily remain a fool.

3 responses to “Musings from a Fool

  • Jenny

    Hey Gary,
    I’m a fool too, mate. Aren’t we all? I’m reminded of that Oscar Wilde quote – all of us are in the gutter. Some of us are looking at the stars.
    I hope all your friends accept you just as you are – that’s one of the best gifts we can give one another, though it’s hard sometimes, as we’re so different. It seems human to want the other to be just like us. But sometimes we don’t like that when it happens, either!

    Keep on journeying, my friend. It’s good to be a pilgrim, and know we’re heading somewhere good.

    Blessings

  • Mike aka MonolithTMA

    Most of my closest friends are Christians, my fiance is a Christian, and many of my family members are Christians. I will not deride you for returning to the faith.

    Personally, I could see myself becoming some sort of theist some day, but I can’t imagine myself ever returning to my old Christian faith, especially not as strictly as I practiced it.

    “The only real wisdom is knowing you know nothing” – Socrates

  • Gary

    Thank you for the thoughts, which to me demonstrate the spirit of love which I believe is divine.

    It’s so true what Socrates said Mike – the more we know, the more we realize we don’t know!

Leave a Reply

